I like Winter, really, I do

Despite the fact that it is now predicted to be in the fifties over the weekend and in the seventies early next week, Winter is here. The sub-freezing temperatures early this week make sure we all know that. That had me a little bit nostalgic for Summer, which is very unusual for me. I normally hate Summer, and have similar feelings towards any season when the temperature does not allow for the comfortable wearing of jeans and scarves 😛

But this Summer, I got very invested in insect photography, and I found myself missing the butterflies and dragonflies I had come to enjoy during the warm, sticky, Summer months. I think this is because I never really noticed that they have their own drums that they march too. Just as I have re-assigned the start and end of the seasons so that they fall in line with the birds that I see (fall really begins in August when the warblers and shorebirds start arriving), I am starting to do it with the dragonflies and butterflies. I now feel like Summer won’t be able to begin until I start seeing all the skimmers and damselflies out and about. I’m kinda looking forward to that so that I can know when the different species begin to show up. When will my new start to Summer be? When I find my first Spiketail? When the last Clubtail disappears, will I feel like Spring has ended?

478

This is one of my all-time favorite photos I’ve taken; it’s a Blue Dasher in Cape May, New Jersey

019

Familiar Bluet

IMG_0940

The famous Monarch butterfly, one of the most glorious butterflies, and always, for me, a herald of the end of Summer, and approaching Autumn months

 

My excitement for the return of warm weather and of my insect friends aside, I actually do like Winter. The cold doesn’t bother me that much, and the birding can be really good. I also like winter because it offers some spectacular opportunities for photography. There are no thick leaves blocking out birds from view, there are lots of ducks around, which offer generally closer approach than many other species, and the lighting is often spectacular earlier in the day than at other times of year, thanks to an early-setting sun.

IMG_1942

Branches in the way? No problem. They have no leaves on them, so no harm done 🙂 Cooper’s Hawk

127 (2)

Ducks really are just spectacular; this is a Ring-necked Duck

114 (2)

Canvasback

111

Canvasback are very trusting at times, one of the things that makes them attractive for photographers, aside from that fact that they are pretty damn attractive

 

Leave a Reply

